ENV

Grand Tour

Grand Tour 2016

The “Grand Tour” is a self-reflective, historically informed, and musically illustrated learning and travel experience that engages with aesthetics and ethics. Go here for an overview of the class. The following photos, itinerary, and details are from our Grand Tour 2016. (Links take you to external websites to provide further information.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

24 May (Tuesday)

  • Students arrive at Milan’s Malpensa Airport (MXP) or Milano Centrale train station (Dr. Allen meets everyone)
  • 13:00, check in to the Koala Hostel  (Via Canzio 15, 20131 Milan, +390249529927)
  • Lunch: Kitchenette
  • Orientation (set up cell phones)
  • Early dinnner: aperitivi (un bar)
  • Evening: free
  • Sleep: Koala Hostel  (Via Canzio 15, 20131 Milan, +390249529927)

25 May (Wednesday)

26 May (Thursday)

27 May (Friday)

28 May (Saturday)

29 May (Sunday)

  • Wake up: La Pescheria Backpackers Hostel (San Polo 1699, 30125 Calle dei Botteri,+390412434851)
  • Morning/afternoon: free
  • 16:00, meet at Venezia Santa Lucia (main train station)
  • 16:25, Frecciarossa 9443, Venezia S. Lucia to Bologna (17:50)
  • 18:00, check in at We_Bologna (laundry!) (Via de’ Carracci 69/14, 40129 Bologna, +390510397900)
  • 19:00, dinner at WellDone Bologna
  • Evening: free
  • Sleep: We_Bologna (Via de’ Carracci 69/14, 40129 Bologna, +390510397900)

30 May-4 June: wake up and sleep every day at We_Bologna (Via de’ Carracci 69/14, 40129 Bologna, +390510397900)

30 May (Monday)

31 May (Tuesday)

1 June (Wednesday)

2 June (Thursday)

3 June (Friday)

4 June (Saturday)

5 June (Sunday)

6 June (Monday)

  • Wake up: Ostello Mancini (Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini, 33, 80139 Napoli, +390815536731)
  • Day trip to Pompeii
  • Picnic lunch with local specialties
  • Dinner: Sorbillo (pizza)
  • Sleep: Ostello Mancini (Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini, 33, 80139 Napoli, +390815536731)

7 June (Tuesday)

8 June (Wednesday)

  • Wake up: Ostello Mancini (Via Pasquale Stanislao Mancini, 33, 80139 Napoli, +390815536731)
  • 11:00, Frecciarossa 9528, Napoli-Roma (12:10)
  • 12:30, check in to Ciak Hostel (laundry!) (Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, +390677076703)
  • Lunch: Janta
  • Afternoon: orientation to Rome
  • Sleep: Ciak Hostel (Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, +390677076703)

9-15 June: Wake up and sleep every day at Ciak Hostel (Viale Manzoni 55, Rome, +390677076703)

9 June (Thursday)

10 June (Friday)

11 June (Saturday)

12 June (Sunday)

  • Morning: free time.
  • Afternoon: trip to Ostia Antica and Lido di Ostia (beach)

13 June (Monday)

14 June (Tuesday)

  • Day trip to Tivoli
  • Evening: free time

15 June (Wednesday)

16 June (Thursday)

  • Departure from Rome